The event "The Melting Arctic: A glimpse into the future of global climate change" will be held in the U.S. center in the blue zone at COP22 in Marrakech, Morocco on Friday, 11 November at 10:30 local time. Listen in as speakers from the science and policy communities discuss the most recent understanding of climate change impacts in the Arctic.

-----

Date: Friday 11 November 2016
Time: 10:30-11:30 AM Marrakech (5:30 AM EST, 2:30 AM PST, 11:30 AM CET)
Watch the live stream: http://www.state.gov/e/oes/climate/cop22/video/index.htm

The Arctic is warming at twice the rate of the global average with profound consequences for the region and communities all over the world. This multimedia event will explain the most recent scientific understanding of climate change impacts in the Arctic, and extrapolate from the Arctic example to highlight the challenges that are on the horizon for the rest of the world. Speakers from the scientific and policy communities will also highlight the actions that are being taken to slow the pace of warming and respond to climate change. Panelist and Deputy Special Envoy for Climate Change Karen Florini will give a presentation on why addressing the impacts of climate change in the Arctic is a policy priority for the U.S., and discuss the climate priorities of the U.S. Chairmanship of the Arctic Council.

Speakers

Philip B. Duffy, Woods Hole Research Center (moderator)
Dr. David C. Weindorf, Texas Tech University
Dr. Steve Vavrus, University of Wisconsin
Dr. JT Reager, NASA Jet Propulsion Laboratory
Karen Florini, U.S. Department of State

Click here to watch a short video - "Between Earth and Sky: Climate Change on the Last Frontier" - that will be presented during the panel.